Allied Health Subject Guide

Search all Ebsco healthcare databases simultaneously using the search box, or select from the options below.

Search all ProQuest healthcare databases                  Search all healthcare databases

Database Best Bets
 
CINAHL (Ebsco)
Comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals. Offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
 
Nursing and Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
 
Health Source – Nursing/Academic Edition (Ebsco)
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

 

Other Recommended Databases
 
ClinicalKey (Formerly Mosby’s Consult)
Comprehensive online reference tool that allows nurses and allied health professionals the information they need. Includes access to evidence based care information, drug information, patient education materials, practice guidelines, journals, and other reference materials. Topics covered include information on indications, contraindications, and adverse reactions. Drug news covers important drug developments, including FDA updates, approvals, and safety alerts.
 
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
An excellent multi-disciplinary database providing thousands of full-text articles on a wide variety of subjects.
 
Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care
Learn how to adapt the care you provide to patients from a variety of cultures.
 
Alt Health Watch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
 
Career & Technical Education: Health & Medicine
Search for health and medicine vocational information using this database.
 
Clinical Skills (Formerly Mosby’s Clinical Skills)
Online access to more than 1,000 evidence-based skills and procedures for nursing and allied health professionals. ALERT – Please log in to Skills using the ID and password issued to you by your instructor. If you have not received a Clinical Skills login, please contact Ask a Librarian to get set up with one.
 
Discovery: Health & Medicine
This resource covers publications on health and medicine for researchers of all levels.
 
Family Health
This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
 
Health & Medical Collection
This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
 
Health Management
This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.

Health Source – Consumer
Search for consumer health information. This resource provides access to over 80 full-text consumer health magazines.

Ovid Nursing
Search Ovid’s Nursing Collection II: Lippincott Premier Nursing Journals – includes the following: AACN Clinical Issues: Advanced Practice in Acute & Critical Care, AJN: American Journal of Nursing, Cancer Nursing, CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing, Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS), Gastroenterology Nursing, JONA: Journal of Nursing Administration, Journal of Nurses in Staff Development (JNSD), Journal of Infusion Nursing, Lippincott’s Case Management, MCN, the American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing, Nurse Educator, Nursing Research, and Quality Management in Health Care.

Psychology Database
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Research Library
This resource covers publications on the latest medical information for researchers of all levels.