General Studies

Search all Ebsco general databases simultaneously using the search box, or select from the options below.



Search all ProQuest general databases             Use FindIT to search all general databases

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)

Go to Academic Search Premier
An excellent multi-disciplinary database providing thousands of full-text articles on a wide variety of subjects.

Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)

Go to Arts & Humanities Database
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Complete (CBCA) (ProQuest)

Go to Canadian Business & Current Affairs Complete (CBCA)
This database, with 600 full text titles, is the most comprehensive Canadian reference collection available today. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, CBCA Complete features a highly-respected, diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, dissertations, books, newspapers and magazines.

Canadian Newsstream (ProQuest)

Go to Canadian Newsstream
Access the full text of more than 300 newspapers from Canada - includes backfiles of most newspapers.

Career and Technical Education (ProQuest)

Go to Career and Technical Education
ProQuest Career & Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.

GreenFILE (Ebsco)

Go to GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.

Health Source - Consumer Edition (Ebsco)

Go to Health Source - Consumer Edition
Search for consumer health information. This resource provides access to over 80 full-text consumer health magazines

LexisNexis Academic (LexisNexis)

Go to LexisNexis Academic
Access to more than 10,000 business, legal, and news sources.

Library Science Database (ProQuest)

Go to Library Science Database
Library Science Database gives users full-text access to a selection of publications relevant to library and information science. It covers a range of titles and topics relevant to the theoretical and applied study of library science, including trade publications aimed at the library profession as well as scholarly journals.

Library, Information Science, & Technical Abstract (Ebsco)

Go to Library, Information Science, & Technical Abstract
Hundreds of full-text journals covering a wide variety of library-related topics.

MAS Ultra - High School Edition (Ebsco)

Go to MAS Ultra - High School Edition
Hundreds of popular magazines aimed at high school students; includes reading level indicators (Lexiles).

MasterFILE Premier (Ebsco)

Go to MasterFILE Premier
Contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and more.

MegaFILE (Ebsco)

Go to MegaFILE
Searches Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and Regional Business News databases at the same time.

Middle Search Plus - Middle School (Ebsco)

Go to Middle Search Plus - Middle School
Contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines. Includes reading level indicators (Lexiles).

Military Database (ProQuest)

Go to Military Database
This database covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more. It includes over 550 titles, with more than 370 available in full-text, allowing you to search over 3.5M records, dating back to the early 1990's.

NBC Learn (NBC)

Go to NBC Learn
Offers thousands of videos along with some other items from the NBC archives on topics ranging from history to current global news.

Points of View Reference Center (Ebsco)

Go to Points of View Reference Center
Points of View can help you locate topic ideas and presents different perspectives on hundreds of controversial topics.

Primary Search - Elementary School (Ebsco)

Go to Primary Search - Elementary School
Contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. Includes reading level indicators (Lexiles).

ProQuest Central (ProQuest)

Go to ProQuest Central
No matter what subject, this is a great place to start your research! ProQuest Central covers business, health, literature, the sciences, history, the arts, and more, pulling information together from thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, newspapers, company reports, and other reliable sources.

Psychology Database (ProQuest)

Go to Psychology Database
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Religion Database (ProQuest)

Go to Religion Database
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

Research Companion (Proquest )

Go to Research Companion
Developed by writing instructors and librarians, ProQuest Research Companion is comprised of nine Learning Modules and seven interactive Tools—all designed to automate the basic parts of the research process. The multimedia-based Learning Modules engage students to think more critically and creatively about their research, while powerful, interactive Tools help students navigate through the research process more quickly to spend more time on the research that interests them most. The responsive design means it's adaptable to all devices—laptops, tablets, and smartphones.

Research Library (ProQuest)

Go to Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

SIRS Knowledge Source (ProQuest)

Go to SIRS Knowledge Source
Start here to learn the origins, pros and cons, global perspectives, and essential questions under debate for more than 300 of today’s biggest social issues, such as global warming, health care reform, animal rights, and more.

Social Science Database (ProQuest)

Go to Social Science Database
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

US Major Dailies (ProQuest)

Go to US Major Dailies
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.

US Newsstream (ProQuest)

Go to US Newsstream
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform..