Henley-Putnam Subject Guide

Arabic

ADC American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee — Lesson plan on Arabic culture covering a range of topics including language, colonialism, and traditional dress.

 

Arab Cultural Awareness — Provides U.S. soldiers with a basic overview of Arab Culture, written by the U.S. Army Training and Doctrine Command.

 

Teach MidEast — Offers instructors and students information to teach and learn about the Middle East through a variety of mediums. An educational outreach initiative of the Middle East Policy Council.

 

Dari

Afghan Culture Museum — Collaboration between multiple museums across the world, bringing access to the cultural heritage of Afghanistan to Internet users. 

 

Centre for Intercultural Learning: Afghanistan — Provides information on cultural norms in Afghanistan. Includes information on non-verbal communication, hierarchical systems, and national heroes. Information from Canadian government.
 

Farsi

 

Centre for Intercultural Learning: Iran — Provides information on cultural norms in Iran. Includes information on non-verbal communication, hierarchical systems, and national heroes. Information from Canadian government.

 

Iran Review — Independent, non-governmental, and non-partisan website presenting information on Iran’s political, economic, social, religious and cultural affairs.

 

 

French

 

BBC Languages – French — Resources on French language and culture compiled by BBC(archived).

 

French Diplomatie — French government website with information about France, foreign policy, foreign affairs and overseas activity.

 

Institut National de l’Audiovisuel— Website of the Agence intergouvernementale de la Francophonie. Site is in French, but has lots of video and audio content; great for French language acquisition.

 

Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie — International organization to promote French language, culture, peace, and sustainable development.

 

 

Hindi

 

BBC: Guide to Hindi  — Tips on words to never use in specific situations, how to act respectfully, and more (archived).

 

Centre for Intercultural Learning: India — Provides information on cultural norms in India. Includes information on non-verbal communication, hierarchical systems, and national heroes. Published by Canadian government.

 

Kwintessential: India — Information on Indian culture compiled by UK organization that helps business with globalization challenges.

 

National Portal of India — Art and Culture page of the Indian government. Includes information on heritage, festivals, handicrafts and more.

 
 

 

Mandarin

 

BBC Languages: Chinese — BBC compiled list of resources on Chinese language and culture (archived).

 

Kwintessential: China — Information on Chinese culture compiled by UK organization that helps business with globalization challenges.

 

Sinosphere (NY Times) — The China blog of the New York Times. Information on current events in China and China’s relationship with the rest of the world.

 

Historical Photos of China — Historical photos of China, based at the University of Bristol.

 

 

Portuguese

 

Centre for Intercultural Learning: Portugal — Provides information on cultural norms in Portugal, including information on non-verbal communication, hierarchical systems, and national heroes.

 

Kwintessential: Portugal – Information on Portuguese culture compiled by UK organization that helps business with globalization challenges.

 

Latin American Network Info Center – Resources on Brazilian arts and culture. Some content in Portuguese, some in English. From University of Texas.

 

 

Russian

 

Far From Moscow — An online resource dedicated to promoting music from Russia and surrounding countries. Hosted by the departments of comparative literature and musicology at UCLA.

 

Kwintessential: Russia – Information on Russian culture compiled by UK organization that helps business with globalization challenges.

 

Library of Congress: Empire that was Russia – Library of Congress exhibit of Prokudin-Gorskii’s photographic survey of the Russian Empire.

 

Master Russian: Russian Culture – Language learning site including links and information about Russian culture.
 

Spanish

 

BBC Languages: Spanish — BBC compiled list of resources on Spanish language and culture (archived).

 

Don Quijote: Spanish culture – Information and links on Spanish language and culture from don Quijote, a network of schools dedicated to teaching Spanish.

 

Kwintessential: Spain – Information on Spanish culture compiled by UK organization that helps business with globalization challenges.