Henley-Putnam Subject Guide

Analysis

Psychology of Intelligence Analysis (book by Richards J. Heuer, Jr.) — This volume pulls together and republishes, with some editing, updating, and additions, articles written during 1978-86 for internal use within the CIA Directorate of Intelligence. The information is relatively timeless and still relevant to the never-ending quest for better analysis. The articles are based on reviewing cognitive psychology literature concerning how people process information to make judgments on incomplete and ambiguous information.
 

Area Studies

Center for Strategic and International Studies — Provides strategic insights and policy solutions to decision-makers in government, international institutions, the private sector, and civil society.

 

International government info at UC Berkeley — The UC Berkeley libraries are depositories for documents from the United Nations, the European Union, the Asian Development Bank, and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe.

 

Library of Congress: Country Studies — The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Currently includes 101 countries. Country profiles also available.

 

NGO Guide from Duke — Enables users to browse non-governmental organizations alphabetically, by issue, region, and affiliation.  Also highlights organizations providing access to statistical data.

 

Stockholm International Peace Research Institute — Provides data, analysis, and recommendations to policymakers, researchers, media, and the interested public. Covers areas in the field of international relations and security, such as hard facts on armed conflicts and peace keeping, arms production and trade, military expenditure, armed forces and conventional weapons holding, nuclear weapons, chronology, statistics, and other reference data.

 

UNdata — A global database of FREE social, economic, cultural, and security-related data aimed at allowing the global user community to access statistical resources of the UN System. Provides access to over 60 million data points. 

 

World Economic Outlook Database — Contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook Report, which presents the International Monetary Fund staff’s analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups, and in many individual countries. Use this database to find data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the IMF. 

 

World Health Org: Global Health Observatory Data — Provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information.  

 

 

Terrorism/Illicit Activity

 

9-11 Commission Final Report — Provides a full and complete account of the circumstances surrounding the September 11th, 2001, terrorist attacks, including preparedness for and the immediate response to the attacks. It also includes recommendations designed to guard against future attacks. 

 

Combating Terrorism Center at West Point – Harmony Program Documents Archive — The focus of this program is to contextualize the inner-functioning of al-Qa’ida, its associated movement, and other security threats through primary source documents. Harmony products released by the CTC are typically accompanied by an analytical report and the primary source material from which its conclusions are based. 

 

FBI Terrorism Resources — Portal to FBI terrorism information. Users can also search the FBI Resource Library to discover additional reports and publications on a variety of relevant topics.  

 

Global Terrorism Database — An open-source database that includes information on both domestic and international terrorist events from 1970 through 2016 (with annual updates thereafter). Managed by START: National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism, A Center of Excellence of the U. S. Department of Homeland Security based at the University of Maryland.

 

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data — Archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. Contains data from over 2,600 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI’s National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).