Assassinations & Abductions
Zapruder at Dailymotion — See the Zapruder film of Kennedy’s assassination by searching for “Kennedy Assassination”
Warren Commission full report — Report of the President’s Commission on the Assassination of President Kennedy.
Reagan Assassination attempt video — See video of assassination attempt and several reviews of the event by searching for “Reagan assassination attempt.”
Patty Hearst — Summary of Patty Hearst kidnapping, from NBC.
Allan Pinkerton — Allan Pinkerton established Pinkerton National Detective Agency in 1850 in the US, a private security guard and detective agency. Find information regarding Allan Pinkerton and the Pinkerton’s at http://www.loc.gov by searching for Pinkerton.
Front de Liberation du Québec
CBC Archives — In October of 1970, the Front de Liberation du Québec, a revolutionary organization promoting an independent and socialist Québec, kidnapped and held hostage British Trade Commissioner James Cross (who was not released until December 3, 1970) and Québec Labour Minister Pierre Laporte (killed on October 17). The CBC Radio archives provide information on the kidnappings and FLQ demands.
DOD Dictionary of Military & Associated Terms — Sets forth standard US military and associated terminology to encompass the joint activity of the Armed Forces of the United States. These military and associated terms, together with their definitions, constitute approved Department of Defense (DOD) terminology for general use by all DOD components.
Spoken and Written Forms of Address for US Gov. Officials — This chart provides the correct forms of address for U.S. public officials, diplomats, religious leaders, royalty, the British peerage, and military personnel.
Military Service Seals
Enlisted Rank Insignia
Officer Rank Insignia
Bureau of Diplomatic Security — The security and law enforcement arm of the U.S. Department of State. DS is a world leader in international investigations, threat analysis, cyber security, counterterrorism, security technology, and protection of people, property, and information.
Office of the Chief of Protocol — Reporting directly to the Secretary of State, the Office of Protocol plays an essential role in strengthening bilateral relationships around the globe and advancing the foreign policy goals of the Administration by fostering an environment for successful diplomacy. It is the bureau’s responsibility to extend appropriate hospitality to foreign missions and their visiting leaders, facilitate cultural exchanges with the diplomatic community and ensure their time spent in the United States is positive and productive.
Office of the Historian — Responsible for the preparation and publication of the official historical documentary record of U.S. foreign policy in the Foreign Relations of the United States series. Access documents concerning departmental history, the history of US diplomacy, key milestones in US diplomacy and a guide to US diplomatic relations with other countries. The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Evidence - Crime Scene
Office of Biometric Identity Management —Gateway to the biometric missions of the Department of Defense, Department of Justice, and other US government agencies.
Bureau of Justice Statistics — The BJS mission is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded. Of particular interest is a section on Forensic Investigation.
FL Department of Law Enforcement — Most states have a crime scene investigation unit. Explore this site to see how such a unit is organized and search their systems for sexual offenders, missing children, wanted or missing persons and so forth.
Secret Service History
Secret Service History — The mission of the United States Secret Service is to safeguard the nation’s financial infrastructure and payment systems to preserve the integrity of the economy, and to protect national leaders, visiting heads of state and government, designated sites and National Special Security Events. This is a good source of information on basic service mandates and dual mission and definitions of Investigative and Protective Missions within the Secret Service.
Associations of Threat Assessment Professionals — ATAP was founded in 1992 as a non-profit organization comprised of law enforcement, prosecutors, mental health professionals, corporate security experts, probation and parole personnel and others involved in the area of threat and violence risk assessment. The purpose of ATAP is to afford its members a professional and educational environment to exchange ideas and strategies that address such issues as stalking, threats, and homeland security.
High Tech Crime Investigation Association — HTCA is designed to encourage, promote, aid and affect the voluntary interchange of data, information, experience, ideas and knowledge about methods, processes, and techniques relating to investigations and security in advanced technologies among its membership.
International Association for Identification — World’s oldest and largest forensic science/identification association bringing together those engaged in forensic identification, investigation and scientific examination of physical evidence. It has information about upcoming conferences and an Ethics and Code of Conduct.
National Fire Protection Association — NFPA´s wealth of fire-related research includes investigations of technically significant fire incidents, fire data analysis, and the Charles S. Morgan Technical Library, one of the most comprehensive fire literature collections in the world. In addition, NFPA´s Fire Protection Research Foundation is a source of independent fire test data, including: fire statistics, fire reports, fire investigations, and resource links to non-commercial services and organizations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook — Search for the word “weapons” and you will retrieve occupational classifications for Military Enlisted Tactical Operations and Air/Weapons Specialists and Crew Members. While used primarily for career information, you can glean some information about the laws that affect the field of personal protection. It provides a good description of the job, training, and a discussion on the use of technology (weapons and computers). Search on “homeland security” and access several PDFs, focusing on government, law enforcement and private for profit opportunities.
Operations Security Professional’s Association — A nonprofit organization dedicated to improving awareness of Operations Security procedures, as well as building cohesion amongst its members. OSPA members work together behind the scenes to further the discipline, as well as creating and sharing information on a wide range of subjects, such as information security, OPSEC briefings, Security Briefings, and OPSEC program management.
Urban and Regional Information Systems Association – URISA: The Association for GIS Professionals — This nonprofit association is comprised of professionals using Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and other information technologies to solve challenges in state / provincial and local government agencies and departments. Students can join and receive membership benefits for $20 per year. With membership one can access conferences, educational opportunities, professional events, publications and virtual resources.
Protective Security Law
FindLaw — Resources and links for both state and federal laws. Includes resources pertaining to constitutions, statutes, cases and more. Run a search for case summaries or select a jurisdiction to browse applicable laws regarding security and personal protection.
Security Laws and Regulations — Compendium of lists created by Chief Security Officers on CSOonline.com which is a newsletter owned by IDG Enterprises. Protective Security Law (e.g. protecting information and people, “false positives,” accurate assessment, threat assessment teams and process, vulnerability of collected information, liability actions or inactions and legal liability, background checks, misconduct, preservation of corporate assets, employee monitoring, workplace violence prevention).
Intelligence Community Legal Reference Book — Published in 2012; Office of the Director of National Intelligence and Office of the General Counsel, Robert S. Litt. The documents presented in this book have been updated to incorporate all amendments made through January 2012, at which point the documents were, where possible, verified against the United States Code maintained by Westlaw.
Risk, Planning, Response, Logistics
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) — The ATF protects communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products. The Bureau partners with communities, industries, law enforcement, and public safety agencies to safeguard the public through information sharing, training, research, and use of technology. Access full-text documents in the Resources section.
Center for Disease Control & Prevention Travelers’ Health Info — Offers information to assist travelers and their health-care providers in identifying the vaccines, medications, and other measures necessary to prevent illness and injury during international travel. Provides access to an extensive array of full-text articles and reports.
Center for Homeland Defense and Security — Provides access to the Homeland Security Digital Library, housing a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management and open access to over 43,000 Federal Government documents and academic theses. Students can apply for access to the full library. Contact email@example.com for more info.
CIA — The CIA Library contains a wealth of information, from unclassified current publications to basic references, reports and maps. In addition to The World Factbook the CIA library features World Leaders, an online directory of Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments. Through the Center for the Study of Intelligence the CIA library provides a great deal of full-text data from Studies in Intelligence, a peer-reviewed intelligence journal. Most of the data under the CIA Maps & Publications tab is NOT free, which includes some data from Studies in Intelligence and other CIA books and reports. However, the CIA Library also provides access to more free full-text data through the Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room, the Kent Center Occasional Papers, and through various Reports.
Computer Hope — Provides database of extensive free computer related information. Learn how to determine who owns a web page, find out how it is routed, or monitor web usage.
CSO Security — Excellent source of free information on Data Management and Security. For some downloads, a user must register with the site to access free information.
FBI — Portal to FBI information, including investigation, counterterrorism, and country information. Various reports and publications available under the “Resources” section of the site.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) — Find information on the National Response Framework and other FEMA activities.
Center for Technology in Government — CTG is an applied research center (public-private partnership) devoted to improving government and public services through policy, management, and technology innovation. Access 174 full-text downloadable reports and publications on a range of technology topics.
Google Earth — View satellite imagery, maps, terrain, and 3D buildings from all over the world (and space).
Institute for Intergovernmental Research — Nonprofit research and training organization that provides local, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies with assistance needed to implement changes that promote greater governmental effectiveness. It is an essential resource for data on gangs, resource sharing and justice training.
Justice Technology Information Network — Portal for professionals to gather information on innovations in the sustainable technology that is transforming the criminal justice system. It is the “go-to source” for those who make decisions regarding the evaluation, selection and purchase of proven and tested methods, equipment and technology. A program of the National Institute of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, US Department of Justice.
Library of Congress Country Studies — The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Currently includes 101 countries. Country profiles also available.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data — Archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. Contains data from over 2,600 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI’s National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).
National Criminal Intelligence Resource Center — Provides criminal justice professionals with a multitude of resources that are primarily concerned with law enforcement intelligence operations and practices. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA).
National Criminal Justice Reference Service — Administered by the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, NCJRS services and resources are available to anyone interested in crime, victim assistance, and public safety including policymakers, practitioners, researchers, educators, community leaders, and the general public.
National Neighborhood Indicators Partnership — Collaborative effort by the Urban Institute and local partners to further the development and use of neighborhood-level information systems in local policymaking and community building. The NNIP includes a broad range of full-text, accessible documents.
National Security Agency (NSA) — Provides access to unclassified historic documents from the Center for Cryptologic History.
World Health Organization: Global Health Observatory — Provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information. Contains a range of useful documents to support advance work and strategic planning, including: Weekly Epidemiological Record, which provides information on cases and outbreaks of communicable diseases; and International Health Regulations (IHR), which provides the latest edition of the public health regulations that are legally binding on WHO Member States.
United Nations — The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.
UNData — A global database of FREE social, economic, cultural, and security-related data aimed at allowing the global user community to access statistical resources of the UN System. Provides access to over 60 million data points.
UN Multilingual Terminology Database — Maintained by the Terminology Team of the Terminology and Reference Section, Documentation Division, DGACM, New York. For example, look up the term ‘quiet diplomacy’ and access a table with translations into French, Spanish, Chinese, Russian and Arabic. Open the folder icon and access a definition and history of the use of this term.
UN Security Council Counterterrorism Committee — Access Founding Documents, Working Papers, and Policy Papers of this UN Committee, guided by Security Council resolutions 1373 (2001) and 1624 (2005). The CTC works to bolster the ability of United Nations Member States to prevent terrorist acts both within their borders and across regions.
Yearbook of the UN — Principle reference work of the United Nations and provides a detailed overview of the Organization’s activities. Each Yearbook is fully indexed and includes all major General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Social Council resolutions. The complete collection is available here.
US Bureau of Transportation Statistics — Administers data collection, analysis, and reporting to ensure the most cost-effective use of transportation-monitoring resources. The BTS mission is to create, manage, and share transportation statistical knowledge with public and private transportation communities and the Nation.
US Census Bureau — Provides current and historic facts and figures about America’s people, places, and economy. Population data can be found via American FactFinder.
US Government Accountability Office — Known as “the investigative arm of Congress” and “the congressional watchdog,” GAO supports the Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and helps improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people.
US Office of Highway Safety — Excellent source for crash data, crash-tested hardware, safety research, tools and technology.
U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission — The mission of the Commission is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation. Explore different occupations by searching here on the Standard Industrial Classification codes (SICs). For example: search on 7380 (Business Services); 7381 (Detectives and Guards); 7389 (Business Services). This is one way of finding out how to develop a protection plan, which is by seeing who is in the business and what they say they are doing in their business practice.
World Economic Outlook Database — The WEO database contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, which presents the International Monetary Fund staff’s analyses and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. The database is released in April and September each year. Use this database to find data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Data are available from 1980 to the present, and projections are given for the next two years. Additionally, medium-term projections are available for selected indicators. For some countries, data are incomplete or unavailable for certain years.
Assassinations & Abductions